Skip to content

Mentoring Award

The Elizabeth Bingham Award is presented each year to a distinguished local scientist who has significantly influenced the advancement of women in science and has served as a mentor and role model.

History of the Bingham Award: Elizabeth ("Liz") Bingham was the force behind the founding of the Philadelphia Chapter of AWIS. She gathered a group of women scientists (many from the USDA's Eastern Regional Research Center where she worked) and drove the process until AWIS-PHL was born. She was 100% committed to AWIS and its mission. Soon after the chapter was founded in 1987, an award was created to recognize those who had promoted the entry and advancement of women in science. The AWIS-PHL Mentoring Award was given for the first time in 1990. When Liz passed away in 1998, it was obvious to everyone in AWIS-PHL that the best way to honor her memory was to rename this award after her.

Call for Nominations: Think back on your career, no matter how long or short it has been. Has there been someone who has had a great impact on your career as a role model, or as a mentor? Was there someone who helped you and others select or advance in your careers or who was willing to listen to your problems and give you support when needed? If so, you now have an opportunity to recognize that person's contribution.

The recipient of the Elizabeth Bingham Award receives an engraved plaque and is the guest of honor and speaker at our annual awards banquet. Nominating letters, accompanied by a brief biography (no set format for nominations), are due by January 15 of each year for presentation at the banquet the following May. To submit a nomination or for more information or a postal mail address contact

[ back to top ]

Travel Awards

AWIS-PHL will award two travel grants each year, in the amount of $500.00 each, to support the attendance of female students at national or international meetings. The conference or meeting must be relevant to the student's field of study and provide the student with an opportunity to speak or present her own research in order to qualify.

The Robert E. Davies Student Travel Award was established in 1993 by AWIS-PHL in memory of Professor Robert E. Davies, whose life was characterized by untiring efforts toward the entry and advancement of women in science. This award is given to a female graduate student enrolled in an accredited graduate program at a school in any the following counties:

The Adelaide M. Delluva Student Travel Award was established by AWIS-PHL in 2008 with a bequest from Dr. Delluva who passed away in 2006. She was a beloved member of AWIS and AWIS-PHL and a loyal and committed supporter of our travel award program. This award is given to a female graduate student enrolled in an accredited graduate program at a school in any the following counties:

Travel Award Policy:

Please Note: Only one submission per applicant per granting period is necessary. Applicants will be considered for all awards for which they meet the criteria.

Contribute to the AWIS-PHL Travel Fund

[ back to top ]

High School Student Awards

The AWIS-PHL High School Science Award ($300), administered by the Delaware Valley Science Council, is given each year to an outstanding female high school science student. The Council oversees a competition involving written exams and interviews and administers the award, which is presented at a banquet in March.

[ back to top ]